Ds106

I must admit, I kept reading about these courses, and weekly assignments and I was getting really nervous about what I was supposed to be doing. I saw some awesome videos and pictures on the website and I was thinking, “I don’t know how to do all of that! And I sure can’t do it in 15 to 20 minutes.” So as I waded through the website, feeling the water get higher and higher I decided to take a step back. I went to the Ds106 twitter page, saw the first Daily Create and just jumped in. I just did it, whether or not I uploaded it to the correct place I am not sure, I just did it on my blog, which is linked to twitter, so I hope you all can see it. I should say that it is not really my hope that everyone can see it per say, but because that is part of the assignment I guess that will be okay. I am not so scared of this 30 day challenge now, I think it is going to be fun!

I could see ds106 being a really neat thing to add into a classroom. I think that it could be used as a project that students could work on when they “finish early” but more than that we could pull from the site of challenges ideas that can be modified to fit the classroom.Students could share their creations on the class website and teach one another tips they learned using such tools as Movie Maker and Sound Cloud. The clips that are mashed up with different scenes could be used, they could create a mash up of presidential speeches, or stop the bullying campaigns. I think  some of the writing prompts could be used and publishing their create challenge could get students really exited. I would say that there are many things on this site that I would not want my students doing, or seeing, so I would perhaps create a shared folder with some of the assignment ideas rather than having them wade through on their own to find one.

I think I will enjoy the challenges of this site because there are so many tools introduced through the assignments that I did not know were out there. Such as Sound transit, I never have even heard of it, but what a fun way to get kids to write and let their imaginations out. You could even add an element of geography to this assignment to make it more meaningful. I love it!

2 thoughts on “Ds106

Leave a Reply

