Make/Hack/Play – Teach-

This blog started out a little foggy for me, Bud’s metaphors about the lenses of teaching did not connect for me until I read the article for the second time. A big part of my education classes has been focused on conceptual learning, an easy way to describe this is teaching things in a way that leads to the “big picture”. Bud’s article touches on this when he talks about the ways to look using the “make, hack, play” lenses in order to “see”.  I will teach conceptually in my classroom and letting kids make things, hack ways to learn and play their way into understanding will be a part of my methods. These are important aspects for getting kids driven about learning. I also read Bud’s blog about agency and it was a helpful in understanding more about hacking and playing with a purpose. This blog will affect the way I will teach because this “hacking” way of thinking and doing can be effective. If a teacher can hack a curriculum meaning, make it better, improve the problems that lie within it, that teacher could be able to change the way we approach some content and in turn the way the kids will as well. I will challenge myself to have it in the back of my mind to have the hacker mind set when approaching my standards and lessons.
I said it in my tweet and I will say it again, whatever that kid was doing as a hackschooler to learn how to speak to an audience they way he did was unbelievable. He was a professional, and it was astounding to watch. I believe in the school system and that is why I want to be a teacher, I also believe there needs to be some major changes so I ride the fence about kids being pulled from public schools to follow their own path to education through the internet and workshops. I think that many of these kids may achieve a great education, and it may even be tailored to their life goal. Yet, if a kid such as me was to hack my education and follow what I wanted to be at the age of 12 you would be reading the works of a professional gymnast. I understood that Logan’s message was he didn’t know what he wanted to be when he got older, other than happy and healthy, and is seemed as though he had achieved a way balance in his life to know how to remain that way. He seemed more stable and in tune with himself than most college students are. So how will his speech change the way I will teach ? I would like to focus on getting kids to the stage of being able to follow their dreams and be healthy and happy. I think it is completely feasible to cater to 25 or 30 kids individual goals, because if we are teaching big pictures and concepts, these kids are understanding far more and much quicker than those in classrooms with teachers who are thematic, and trudge through one subject at a time. There is enough time in the day to individualize, but it is going to take a whole lot of hacking the old dusty lesson plans of yesterday. 3944218322_4f963886dc_n

Photo By- CC- Una clerta mirada

 

6 thoughts on “Make/Hack/Play – Teach-

      1. I wish he would train me too! I watched another kid, an autistic quantum physicist who was 14 do a speech for this weeks blog, and he had the audience, or at least me eating out of his palm! I love it! I cant wait to teach and encounter kids like this.

        Like

  1. You have some great thoughts, here! I’m glad to hear that Bud’s discussion of agency was meaningful and that you found some helpful tidbits from Logan LaPlante’s talk. It took me a very long time to deconstruct and reconstruct learning theory through my K-12 teaching and graduate work. I probably would have never before given Constructivism a second thought. Honestly, it’s very difficult for those of us from “the system” to believe that children have an innate drive to learn because force is all we’ve known. We assume that every step must be carefully guided–that, if given freedom, they’ll only play video games all day — that they’ll never get bored and never have another interest. It’s comforting to know we are ALL initially curious beings, in the beginning. Hopefully, by employing more freedom and risk in our public schools, we will some day witness a generation of students who come out knowing who they really are, what they really want to do/be, and how to achieve their own goals. 🙂 Great post, thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

